Reading University UCU Rotating Header Image

Department reps

Reading UCU Representatives

UCU representatives act as a point of contact for members in their Department, School, Directorate or Building, and can also take on additional responsibilities for which full training will be given. If there is no rep in your area, why not volunteer to take on this role, which can be as large or as small as you want to make it?

Basic duties of Department Reps are as follows:

  • distribute branch newsletters and other communications from the Branch Committee;
  • put up postersĀ on the staff noticeboard promoting UCU’s activities and services;
  • be a first port of call for membership and members’ enquiries;
  • help host any departmental meetings the Committee may want to hold in the area (eg. surgeries).

Reps may also take on other roles, such as the following:

  • equal opportunities
  • well-being issues
  • representing colleagues at formal meetings
  • harassment and bullying.

For more information, contact Colette Maxfield, Branch Administrator
Tel: 0118 378 7245
Email: cmaxfield@ucu.org.uk

Current UCU Department Representatives:

Agriculture, Policy and Development
Irene Mueller-Harvey
Tel: 0118 378 6619
Email: I.Mueller-Harvey@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Philip Lyle Building)
Louise Johnson
Tel: 0118 378 4432
Email: l.j.johnson@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Hopkins Building)
David Leake
Room 109 Hopkins Building
Tel.: 0118 378 7062
Email: d.s.leake@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Harborne Building)
Liam McGuffin
Tel: 0118 378 6332
Email: l.j.mcguffin@reading.ac.uk

Chemistry
Fred Davis
Tel: 0118 378 8455
Email: f.j.davis@reading.ac.uk

Classics
Eleanor Dickey
Tel: 0118 378 6772
Email: e.dickey@reading.ac.uk

Art
John Russell
Tel: 0118 378 7155
Email: j.a.russell@reading.ac.uk

Henley Business School – Greenlands
Stephen Simister
Tel: 01491 418578
Email: stephen.simister@henley.reading.ac.uk

History
Jeremy Burchardt
Tel: 0118 378 7735
Email: j.burchardt@reading.ac.uk

Institute of Education
Geoff Taggart
Tel: 0118 378 2643
Email: g.taggart@reading.ac.uk

International Office
Louis Rogers
Tel: 0118 378 7227
Email: l.j.rogers@reading.ac.uk

Library Staff
Helen Hathaway
Main Library, Whiteknights
Tel: 0118 378 7870
Email: h.m.hathaway@reading.ac.uk

Modern Languages and European Studies
Melani Schroeter
German Department, HumSS
Tel: 0118 378 6384
Email: m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk

Pharmacy
Alister McNeish
Room 207 Hopkins Building
Tel: 0118 378 8256
Email: a.mcneish@reading.ac.uk

Politics and International Relations
Rob Jubb
Email: r.s.d.jubb@reading.ac.uk

Psychology and Clinical Languages Science
Vacant
Tel:
Email:

School of Law
Simone Austin-Jones
Tel: 0118 378 7526
Email: s.a.austin-jones@reading.ac.uk

and

Angela Foxon
Tel: 0118 378 8598
Enail: a.foxon@reading.ac.uk

School of Systems Engineering
James Anderson
Tel: 0118 378 8616
Email: j.anderson@reading.ac.uk

Whiteknights House
Vacant
Tel:
Email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *