Reading University UCU Rotating Header Image

Department reps

Reading UCU Representatives

UCU representatives act as a point of contact for members in their Department, School, Directorate or Building, and can also take on additional responsibilities for which full training will be given. If there is no rep in your area, why not volunteer to take on this role, which can be as large or as small as you want to make it?

Basic duties of Department Reps are as follows:

  • distribute branch newsletters and other communications from the Branch Committee;
  • put up posters on the staff noticeboard promoting UCU’s activities and services;
  • be a first port of call for membership and members’ enquiries;
  • help host any departmental meetings the Committee may want to hold in the area (eg. surgeries).

Reps may also take on other roles, such as the following:

  • equal opportunities
  • well-being issues
  • representing colleagues at formal meetings
  • harassment and bullying.

For more information, contact Colette Maxfield, Branch Administrator
Tel: 0118 378 7245
Email: cmaxfield@ucu.org.uk

Current UCU Department Representatives:

Agriculture, Policy and Development
Andrew Ainslie
Email: a.m.ainslie@reading.ac.uk 

Art
John Russell
Tel: 0118 378 7155
Email: j.a.russell@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Philip Lyle Building)
Louise Johnson
Tel: 0118 378 4432
Email: l.j.johnson@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Hopkins Building)
David Leake
Room 109 Hopkins Building
Tel.: 0118 378 7062
Email: d.s.leake@reading.ac.uk

Biological Sciences (Harborne Building)
Liam McGuffin
Tel: 0118 378 6332
Email: l.j.mcguffin@reading.ac.uk

Chemistry
Fred Davis
Tel: 0118 378 8455
Email: f.j.davis@reading.ac.uk

Classics
Eleanor Dickey
Tel: 0118 378 6772
Email: e.dickey@reading.ac.uk

Film, Theatre and Televsion
Lucy Tyler
Email: l.s.tyler@reading.ac.uk

Henley Business School – Greenlands
Stephen Simister
Tel: 01491 418578
Email: stephen.simister@henley.reading.ac.uk

Henley Business School – Whiteknights
Deepa Govindarajan Driver
Tel: 0118 378 8239
Email: deepa.g@btopenworld.com 

History
Jeremy Burchardt
Tel: 0118 378 7735
Email: j.burchardt@reading.ac.uk

Geography
Tom Sizmur
Tel: 0118 378 8913
Email: t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk

Institute of Education
Geoff Taggart
Tel: 0118 378 2643
Email: g.taggart@reading.ac.uk

International Office 
Louis Rogers
Tel: 0118 378 7227
Email: l.j.rogers@reading.ac.uk

International Study & Language Institute
Chiara Cirillo
Email: c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk

Library Staff
Vacant
Tel:
Email:

Meteorology
Tom Webb
Email: t.l.webb@reading.ac.uk

Modern Languages and European Studies

Par Kumaraswami
Email: p.kumaraswami@reading.ac.uk

Melani Schroeter
German Department
Tel: 0118 378 6384
Email: m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk

Pharmacy
Alister McNeish
Room 207 Hopkins Building
Tel: 0118 378 8256
Email: a.mcneish@reading.ac.uk

Politics and International Relations
Rob Jubb
Email: r.s.d.jubb@reading.ac.uk

Psychology and Clinical Languages Science
David T Field
Tel: 0118 378 5004
Email: d.t.field@reading.ac.uk

School of Law
Steve Samuel
Email: s.samuel@reading.ac.uk

School of Systems Engineering
James Anderson
Tel: 0118 378 8616
Email: j.anderson@reading.ac.uk

Whiteknights House
Vacant
Tel:
Email:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *